?

“Come in. Good morning! How are you today?”

“Not very well, doctor, otherwise I wouldn’t be here to see you.”

“Of course, how silly of me. Would you like some tea? Coffee? Anything to make you more comfortable?”

“I think I’m okay to just begin.”

“Very well, why don’t you lie down there, relax, take a deep breath and tell me about your problem.”

“I…I’m just so depressed all the time. I feel so miserable, so full of despair. I want to kill myself.”

“Mm-hmm, and when did these symptoms first start?”

“Oh about a month or so ago. I just started getting these terrible bouts of sadness, long hours where I just sat there with my head in my hands, crying.”

“I see, and what do you think might have caused the onset of these negative emotions?”

“Oh I don’t think doctor, I know what caused them. My job.”

“Your job?”

“Yes. I’ve just gotten so disillusioned with work. I mean it’s what I always wanted to do, or at least it’s what I thought I wanted to do. But these days I dread going to the office, I often lie to my secretary about being sick and stay home all day. I can’t stand the thought of going there, it’s such relentless tedium. Most of the time it involves just sitting around doing nothing, slumping over your desk, looking at the occasional file but mainly staring at the walls and wondering whether the paint has started peeling off in that corner of the room there, a hundred times a day. It’s not like it pays particularly well, and the people I have to meet, oh god! You wouldn’t believe what incredible, unimaginative bores they are! They make everything seem so much more duller than it already is. They’re insipid! Lifeless! I think I’ll go out of my mind if I ever have to listen to any of them again!”

“And what is it that you do?”

“Why doctor, I’m a psychiatrist.”

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “?

  1. Jareer says:

    The last line of such posts should be: “eyes at the top buster or you’re gonna ruin it for your self!” (needless to say) for people like me, who cannot control their urge to peek at the end before they even begin.

  2. Leo says:

    ^ True. Was very hard to resist.

Leave a Reply

